Skippy With Makaha Sons Of Ni'ihau – Kahea O Keale

Regular price ¥0

Tax included.

Label:Poki Records – SP7 9022


Used LP 1977

Disc:VG+ (good shape, only feel slight surface noise at quiet part)

Jacket:VG+ (light wrinkles on corner, good condition overall)

Makaha Sons Of Ni'ihau was formed in 1976 on the island of Oahu and was known as the group to which Hawaii's representative singer Israel Kamakawiwoʻole belonged. This work in 1977 is counted as one of the early releases when Israel's brother Skippy Kamakawiwoʻole, who was also the leader at the time, was enrolled, and was dedicated to their mother. Total 11 tracks with steel guitar, ukulele, 12-string guitar, bass, and vocals by all the members, and are surrounded by the local climate and tropical mellow. Since 1980’s, the group mixes various elements, but this work seems to focus more on comfort.

76年にオアフ島で結成されハワイの代表的シンガーIsrael Kamakawiwoʻoleが所属していたグループとしても知られ彼の死後も2000年代まで活動を続けたグループMakaha Sons Of Ni'ihau。本作は当時のリーダーでもありIsraelの兄Skippy Kamakawiwoʻoleが在籍していた初期作に数えられ、彼らの母親に捧げられた77年の作品。スティールギター、ウクレレ、12弦ギター、ベースに全員のヴォーカルで歌われる地の風土と南国メロウに包まれた全11曲。80年以降は様々な要素をミックスしますが、この作品ではより心地良さに重点が置かれたような雰囲気となっているのも特徴です。

A1 - Kahea O Keale

A3 - He Punahele No 'Oe

B2 - Dreams

B3 - Ka'Ililaukekoa

B4 - Mauna Alani

B5 - Ua Mau