Saul Barbosa – Movimento

Regular price ¥0

Tax included.

Label:Estúdio de Invenções – LPE 1012


Used LP 1988

Disc:VG+ (good shape, only feel light surface noise at silent part)

Jacket:VG+ (light wear, autographed on back, not bad condition as Brazilian cover) w/insert

Saul Barbosa, a Guitarist/singer/composer born in Ilhéus, southern Bahia. This is his second album in 1988 when he returned to Bahia after releasing master first album "O Ar O Tempo E O Vento" in 1984, which was produced while based in Rio. Sentimental melody and spacey sound give a more sophisticated impression. First, the emotional title track "Movimento" with Orlando San't Helena, reminiscent of Gismonti, followed by "A Rainha E O Peao" with its expansive and magnificent melody, neat saudade MPB "Mestica", the groovy "Partindo Ao Meio" with Virgínia Andrade, exquisite, not-too-high tension samba tune "Sao Meio" are particularly amazing. A more complete crossover sound is presented.

バイーア州南部イリェウス生まれのギタリスト/シンガー/コンポーザーSaul Barbosa。本作はリオを拠点時に制作した84年の傑作ファーストアルバム”空、時、そして風”リリース後にバイーアに戻りコンポーザーとしても活躍していた88年のセカンドアルバム。センチメンタルな旋律、スペイシーなサウンドはそのままにより一層洗練された印象。まずジスモンチを想わせるようなOrlando San't Helenaと歌うエモーショナルなタイトル曲”Movimento”、続いて広がるような壮大なメロディで展開される”A Rainha E O Peao”、端正なサウダージ感覚のMPB”Mestica”、Virgínia Andradeとのグルーヴィーな”Partindo Ao Meio”、上げすぎない絶妙なテンションのサンバ・チューン”Correndo Na Chuva”なども絶品。今作でも円熟味の増したクロスオーバーサウンドを披露しています。

A1 - A Rainha E O Peao

A3 - Mestica

A5 - Partindo Ao Meio

B2 - Veloz Lentidao

B4 - Correndo Na Chuva

B5 - Movimento