Dogon - S.T.

Regular price ¥0

Tax included.

Label:M.A.N. – 0001


Used Cassette 1989

Tape:VG+ (plays fine)
J-Card:VG+ (good and clean)

Miguel Noya, one of the leading artists of the Venezuelan electronic music scene along with Angel Rada and Musikautomatika. After completing a degree in Electronic Music and Digital Sound Synthesis in the United States, he returned to his hometown of Caracas. This is the first work of duo Dogon with remixer/vocalist Paul Godwin, released about five years after his masterpiece "Gran Sabana", which was inspired by traditional Venezuelan folk music and the natural world. The year 1989 was also the year of the anti-neoliberal demonstration Caracazo, which reportedly killed 3,000 people, and the style of the album seems to contain a certain message, featuring vocals. The A-side is dominated by elements of electric, folk, and experimental music, while the B-side is centered on the beat-infused songs that can be found in later works. A number of valuable sound sources that offer a glimpse of a different side to his solo work. It's a  just pleasure to listen to this kind of music, which is also rich in an exquisite sense of balance.

Angel RadaやMusikautomatikaと共にヴェネズエラ電子音楽シーンを代表するアーティストのひとりMiguel Noya。アメリカにて電子音楽とデジタル・サウンド・シンセシスの学位を取得した後、地元カラカスに戻り伝統的なベェネズエラの民族音楽と自然界からインスピレーションを元に制作された傑作”Gran Sabana”から約5年後にリリースされたリミキサー/ヴォーカリストPaul GodwinとのデュオDogonの初作がこちら。89年は3,000人もの人が亡くなったとの報告もある反新自由主義デモCaracazoが起こった年でもあり、ヴォーカルをフィーチャーしたある種のメッセージ性を含んだような作風となっています。エレクトリック、フォーク、エクスペリメンタルなどの要素が主体となったA面、以降の作品でも見られるビートを織り交ぜた楽曲中心のB面。ソロ作とはまた違う側面を垣間見れる貴重な音源の数々。絶妙なバランス感覚にも富んだこんな音楽を聴くのは喜びでしかありません。プライベートなリリースを重ねていた頃のカセット作品です。

A1 - Love ・ City ・ Dream - City

A2 - Love ・ City ・ Dream - Dream (Dolphins)

A3 - Love ・ City ・ Dream - Love

A4 - Don´t Jump The Gun

B1 - Empty Glass

B2 - Increado

B3 - Shikasta Part 1

B4 - Shikasta Part 2